Keynote Speakers


For MMSYM 2024, we have invited experts in the three main research themes of our conference. We are happy to announce the following Keynote Speakers:

Prof. Dr. Petra Wagner
Bielefeld University

Petra Wagner is a Professor of Phonetics and the Leader of the Phonetics Work Group at Bielefeld University. Her research focuses on phonetics, prosody and multimodal prosody, as well as speech synthesis, conversational acts of speech and human-machine interaction. Among other research interests, Petra Wagner is involved in projects tackling gesture-speech coordination, shedding light on multimodality from different perspectives.

View personal site

Dr. Judith Holler
Donders Institute for Brain, Cognition & Behavior, Radboud University; MPI for Psycholinguistics Nijmegen

Judith Holler is Associate professor at Donders institute of Radboud University and Senior Investigator at the MPI for Psycholinguistics in Nijmegen. Her research focuses on multimodal language, and more specifically on how people convey and comprehend messages with the verbal and visual modalities they have at their disposal in face-to-face interaction and how they use them to structure their interactions. To do so, she combines different approaches, including quantitative corpus analyses, behavioural and neurocognitive experimental methods, as well as tools such as mobile eyetracking and virtual reality.

View personal site

Dr. Julie Hunter
Linagora Labs, Toulouse

Julie Hunter is a linguist at Linagora Labs in Toulouse, France. In her research, she develops models of human conversation, including multimodal interactions, from a pragmatic perspective. Working on the development and automatic annotation of audio-visual communication corpora, Julie Hunter’s research contributes to the facilitation and efficiency of multimodal communication research at the interface of linguistics and computational science.

View personal site